A Rhino’s Lament

Possibly as a rhinoceros I’m more forward thinking than not, but that still doesn’t mean I like planning. My main problem is the fact that drifting from plain to plain can become tiresome. Sometimes I yearn for greater freedom and more excitement in my life. To break down the barriers and go where the ripple in the tall grass takes me.

Not all of us are like this though, some of my crash (a poorly named collective noun if ever I were to stumble across one) spar with one another or square up to lions but to me, that just seems foolhardy. 

These are people who are trying to pave over a hole in their life with something more frivolous, something less meaningful. I instead want to try writing, and if that dalliance with the written word takes hold, I would like to dabble in poetry. 

As a rhino, one doesn’t get much time to think about sonnets or iambic pentameter but I have learnt to converse with the trees about the rhythm of the wind and speak to the birds in awe of the tidal nature of their flight.

I wish for intellectual engagement; to be thinking on a level other than subsistence but with the world as it is at the moment my dreams have to be put to the back. So much of my want is now at the back, that soon I will run out of room. And then what…

Leave a Reply

