So, What Should I Do With Myself?

I am now rapidly approaching that time in life, where I would like to know what I am going to do with my life.

Some people are lucky; they knew ever since they were knee-high to a millipede that they wanted a life more ordinary and trained to be a lawyer or an accountant. Sadly, I never had and still don’t have such a luxury. I know which paths I do not want to go down (deep sea diver, bus driver, gynecologist), but at the same time, my desires are either vastly unworkable (speech writer for the President of the United States (I watched too much of the West Wing)), or just extremely vague: I would love to work from home or be my own boss. Yet when it comes to working out the ‘what’ is, my mind wanders onto issues far more mundane. So that leaves me with a yearning to do a rather intangible ‘something’, an insatiable itch that seems destined to remain unscratched. I am prepared for action but just not sure what I should be doing.

I have interests; sure there are things that I love and am fascinated by, but either I don’t know how to make a career from them, or my skills aren’t matched to it. Take politics for instance; regular readers (splutter) know it is one of the main passions in my life, but it is populated for the most part, by singularly egocentric, career focused, business jargon spouting blandards (ironically, those that don’t understand the concept of public service), so not the kind of atmosphere I want to be a part of.

Being a freelance researcher, would be the best extension of that; having the freedom to be your own boss, whilst engaging with fascinating ‘stuff’ every day. But, like so many other things, it is nepotistic to the hilt and, understandably enough, potential clients would like to know that you have experience in the industry before they hire you.

In essence, I am left with nothing save from my education and my smiling face, which isn’t enough to hang a hat on, let alone build a career around. So if anyone does have an idea or suggestions on where to go from here, or would just like to invest in me (…), I am open.

Leave a Reply

